top of page
iso 22301 bcms cover.png
American Express
pptx icon.png

File Type:

Aspect Ratio: 


File Size: 17.0 MB


Number of Slides: 74


Terms of Usage

Training Presentation/Powerpoint:

ISO 22301:2019 (Security & Resilience - BCMS) Awareness Training



ISO 22301:2019, Security and Resilience - Business Continuity Management System (BCMS), is an internationally recognized standard for organizations to implement and maintain effective business continuity plans, systems, and processes. This updated standard replaces the old ISO 22301:2012.

A wide range of threats can disrupt the smooth operation of an organization, such as floods, cyber-attacks, IT breakdowns, supply chain issues, or loss of skilled staff. Failure to address these threats effectively can lead to disruption or even business failure. Therefore, consistent planning for disasters is essential to provide a more effective response and quicker recovery.

ISO 22301:2019 provides a holistic, strategic approach to an organization's business continuity policy, plans, and actions. By implementing the ISO 22301:2019 framework, organizations can minimize downtime during incidents and improve recovery time. The recent COVID-19 pandemic, floods, and cyber-attacks have highlighted the importance of business continuity plans and systems to keep businesses running and minimize disruptions.

This standard applies to all organizations, regardless of their size, industry, or nature of business. It is also relevant to certification and regulatory bodies, enabling them to assess an organization's ability to meet its legal or regulatory requirements. Business continuity and risk professionals, supply chain directors, audit managers and associates, developers of corporate social responsibility reports, regulatory bodies, and anyone interested in business continuity can benefit from ISO 22301.

ISO 22301 brings together international best practices to help organizations respond to and recover from disruptions effectively. This results in reduced costs and less impact on business performance should something go wrong. Moreover, organizations with multiple sites or divisions can rely on the same consistent approach throughout the entire organization.

ISO 22301 also provides a clear and detailed view of how an organization operates, offering valuable insights for strategic planning, risk management, supply chain management, business transformation, and resource management.

To create awareness of the ISO 22301:2019 standard, this BCMS awareness PPT training presentation can be used to brief management and staff, new hires, and potential auditees. Alternatively, the presentation may supplement materials for the training of BCMS professionals and internal auditors.

NOTE: This training package includes:

1. ISO 22301:2019 (BCMS) PPT training presentation (PowerPoint format)

2. ISO Certification Audit poster (PDF format, in color and monochrome, printable in A3 size)



Learning Objectives

  1. Provide background knowledge of ISO 22301.

  2. Gain an overview of ISO 22301 structure and the certification process.

  3. Gather useful tips on handling an audit session.




1. Overview of ISO 22301

  • About ISO

  • ISO Standards Contribute Directly to the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

  • What are Standards?

  • What Standards are Not

  • Why are Standards Important?

  • Why an ISO Standard?

  • What is a Management System?

  • Definition of "Business Continuity"

  • What is ISO 22301:2019?

  • Development of ISO 22301:2019

  • Objective of ISO 22301:2019

  • What Improvements Were Made to ISO 22301:2019?

  • Who Can Use ISO 22301:2019?

  • How Does ISO 22301:2019 Work?

  • Benefits of ISO 22301:2019

  • Advantages of Certification

  • Accreditation & Certification Bodies

  • The Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) Process Model

  • Emphasis on Process Approach

  • Risk-based Thinking

  • Benefits of the New ISO 22301:2019


2. ISO 22301 Structure

  • What is Annex L?

  • Annex L is a Framework for a Generic Management System

  • High-Level Structure (HLS)

  • ISO 22301:2019 is Based on the High-Level Structure for Management System Standards

  • HLS: The Same Core Elements

  • ISO 22301:2019 is Based on the PDCA Cycle

  • PDCA and ISO 22301:2019 Clause Structure

  • ISO 22301:2019 Key Clause Structure (4-10)

    • Context of the Organization

    • Leadership

    • Planning

    • Support

    • Operation

    • Performance Evaluation

    • Improvement

  • The PDCA Cycle is the Engine for Continuous Improvement

  • Continual Improvement


3. ISO 22301 Certification

  • Becoming ISO 22301:2019 Certified

  • Aligning/Transitioning to ISO 22301:2019

  • The ISO 22301:2019 Certification Process

  • What Does Certification Assure?


4. Audit Approach 

  • What is an Audit?

  • What is an ISO Audit?

  • What Are Audits Used For?

  • Types of Audits

  • Internal Audit

  • Principles of Auditing

  • Audit Approach

  • Audit Emphasis

  • Review of Documented Information

  • Audit Findings


5. Handling an Audit Session

  • Rights of Auditee

  • Rights of Auditor

  • How to Handle the Audit Session?

  • Auditee’s Conduct

  • Do’s

  • Don’ts

You may also be interested in the following Management System Standards (sold separately):

  1. ISO 9001:2015 (QMS) Awareness Training

  2. ISO 13485:2016 (Medical Devices - QMS) Awareness Training

  3. ISO 14001:2015 (EMS) Awareness Training

  4. ISO 19011:2018 Auditing Management Systems Training

  5. ISO/IEC 20000-1:2018 (SMS) Awareness Training

  6. ISO 20400:2017 (Sustainable Procurement) Awareness Training

  7. ISO 22000:2018 (FSMS) Awareness Training

  8. ISO 22301:2019 (BCMS) Awareness Training

  9. ISO 26000:2010 (Social Responsibility) Awareness Training

  10. ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (ISMS) Awareness Training

  11. ISO 31000:2018 (Risk Management) Awareness Training

  12. ISO 37000:2021 (Governance of Organizations) Awareness Training

  13. ISO 37001:2016 (ABMS) Awareness Training

  14. ISO 37301:2021 (CMS) Awareness Training

  15. ISO 41001:2018 (FM) Awareness Training

  16. ISO 45001:2018 (OH&S) Awareness Training

  17. ISO 50001:2018 (EnMS) Awareness Training

  18. ISO 55001:2014 (Asset Management) Awareness Training


bottom of page